New York Forum: Lookout for this www.craigslist.com vacation apartment, it is fake - New York Forum

Jump to content

Register on New York Forum
Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic
  • Bookmark

Lookout for this www.craigslist.com vacation apartment, it is fake Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   Peter North 

  • Junior Member
  • PipPip
  • View blog
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 14-March 09

Posted 14 March 2009 - 04:37 PM

$150 / 2br - Splendid Vacation Apartment in Center Manhattan. Sleeps 1-6 (Midtown) (map)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Reply to: hous-jyvpp-1073702955@craigslist.org [Errors when replying to ads?]
Date: 2009-03-13, 5:15PM EDT



This is an elegant, renovated and marvelous fully furnished 2 bedroom is in the heart of Manhattan (Midtown) on 8th Avenue between 30th and 31st Street. Located in a walk up building three short flights up. The property features two equal sized bedrooms with brand new queen sized beds and a living room with a queen sleeper sofa. This property comfortably sleeps 7 people. There is a flat screen TV, Wireless Internet, fully stocked kitchen with dishwasher and your own washer and dryer. You are in a great location near 34th Street. You can walk South a few blocks and enjoy the wonderful restaurants and cafes in Chelsea. Head north where you are easy walking distance to Times Square and the Javits Center. Steps from the A/C/E/2/3 trains.

Stay in Midtown, steps to Chelsea boutiques, restaurants, art galleries and cafes as well as walking distance to Times Square. You will find this location very convenient to the heart of Midtown as well as downtown. Additionally enjoy the running, biking paths, basketball courts and free kayaking along the Hudson River Park just a few blocks west of the apartment.

$150/night, 3nights @ minimum stay..

If you are interested, email me and decide asap before someone else book your dates....


8th Avenue at W 30th and W 31st Street google map yahoo map


I have lost USD 1300, on one of his former fake apartments, and it has the same description as this one…
0

#2 User is offline   mrkredo 

  • Regional Intranet Specialist
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • View blog
  • View gallery
  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 10,449
  • Joined: 31-May 05
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Midtown

Posted 14 March 2009 - 06:43 PM

It does look fake - too good to be truth.
0

#3 User is offline   Peter North 

  • Junior Member
  • PipPip
  • View blog
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 14-March 09

Posted 16 March 2009 - 04:12 AM

This is his new one.... IT IS STILL FAKE



$150 / 2br - Magnificent Vacation Apartment in Center Manhattan (Midtown) (map)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Reply to: harris.edwin@ymail.com [Errors when replying to ads?]
Date: 2009-03-15, 2:42PM EDT




This elegant, renovated and wonderful fully furnished 2 bedroom is in the heart of Manhattan (Midtown) on 8th Avenue between 30th and 31st Street. Located in a walk up building three short flights up.
The property features two equal sized bedrooms with brand new queen sized beds and a living room with a queen sleeper sofa. This property comfortably sleeps 7 people. There is a flat screen TV, Wireless Internet, fully stocked kitchen with dishwasher and your own washer and dryer. You are in a great location near 34th Street. You can walk South a few blocks and enjoy the wonderful restaurants and cafes in Chelsea. Head north where you are easy walking distance to Times Square and the Javits Center. Steps from the A/C/E/2/3 trains.

Stay in Midtown, steps to Chelsea boutiques, restaurants, art galleries and cafes as well as walking distance to Times Square. You will find this location very convenient to the heart of Midtown as well as downtown. Additionally enjoy the running, biking paths, basketball courts and free kayaking along the Hudson River Park just a few blocks west of the apartment.

$150/night, 3nights @ minimum stay..

If you are interested, email me and decide asap before someone else book your dates....



408 at 8th Avenue google map yahoo map
it's NOT ok to contact this poster with services or other commercial interests
PostingID: 1076066535
0

#4 User is offline   RAM1424 

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 33
  • Joined: 18-March 09
  • Location:Currently Sacramento, CA

Posted 22 March 2009 - 03:24 PM

$150 per night... it doesnt seem too fake. But what I look at all the time is a phone number, obviously this advertisement doesn't got a number so you might want to contact the person and ask for a number. If they start giving you shit like you only can book over the internet than obviously its a fake ad. Craigslist is well known for scams
0

#5 User is offline   creator 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • View blog
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 27-April 09

Posted 27 April 2009 - 10:41 AM

View PostRAM1424, on Mar 22 2009, 05:24 PM, said:

$150 per night... it doesnt seem too fake. But what I look at all the time is a phone number, obviously this advertisement doesn't got a number so you might want to contact the person and ask for a number. If they start giving you shit like you only can book over the internet than obviously its a fake ad. Craigslist is well known for scams


I wish I saw this before I'm just been a victim.

Is there anyway of traking this scammer and making sure the others aren't affected?
I'm not an expert with craigslist obviously i wouldn't be scammed if i was. Is there any way that
craigslist verifies that they are legitimate or can anyone pose to be anybody and practically get away with it.

Hi I have been a victim of this fraudulent activity.

Do you have the ip address of the email of this scammer.

I have tracked the email adress to Nigeria.

Here is the information that I have investigated. The ip address of this scammer was:

62.173.34.38

The email address that the scammers were using was:

samedwinss@yahoo.ca


Please read the following whois information:

Domain name: ipnxtelecoms.com

Registrant:
Ejovi Aror (53PE2) [whois][trace][reverse ip]
ipNX Nigeria Limited
4 balarabe Musa Cresent
Victoria Island, Lagos 2341
Nigeria
Phone: +234 (1)4619943

Administrative Contact:
Ejovi Aror (53PE2) [whois][trace][reverse ip]
ipNX Nigeria Limited
4 balarabe Musa Cresent
Victoria Island, Lagos 2341
Nigeria
Phone: +234 (1)4619943

Technical Contact:
Ejovi Aror (53PE2) [whois][trace][reverse ip]
ipNX Nigeria Limited
4 balarabe Musa Cresent
Victoria Island, Lagos 2341
Nigeria
Phone: +234 (1)4619943

Billing Contact:
Ejovi Aror (53PE2) [whois][trace][reverse ip]
ipNX Nigeria Limited
4 balarabe Musa Cresent
Victoria Island, Lagos 2341
Nigeria
Phone: +234 (1)4619943

Record last updated on 2008-10-31 00:00:00
Record created on 2002-11-06 00:00:00
Record expires on 2009-11-06 00:00:00

Domain servers in listed order:
ns2.ipnxnigeria.net[whois][trace][reverse ip] 62.173.34.222[whois][trace][reverse ip]
ns1.ipnxnigeria.net[whois][trace][reverse ip] 62.173.32.83[whois][trace][reverse ip]

Registration Service Provider: IPNX Nigeria Ltd
[whois][trace][reverse ip]


Registrar: NAMES4EVER, http://www.names4ever.com[whois][trace][reverse ip]



PLEASE NOTE:

I was shocked to find out that IP address had let to be in nigerian.
If you would like to help me make sure these guys don't do this again anyone else on craigslist please let me know.
0

#6 User is offline   derektrainwreck 

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • View blog
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 14-June 09

Posted 14 June 2009 - 09:57 PM

FAKE BULLSHIT
0

#7 User is offline   mrkredo 

  • Regional Intranet Specialist
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • View blog
  • View gallery
  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 10,449
  • Joined: 31-May 05
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Midtown

Posted 14 June 2009 - 11:35 PM

I contacted craigslist.org apartment ads twice and both times they were on multi-year business trip in Africa somewhere and asked me to wire down payment to some shady bank account.

Stay away from Craigslist apartment listings, if apartment is too cheap for the area, it will be a scam, guaranteed.
0

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic
  • Bookmark


Similar Topics Collapse

  Topic Forum Started By Stats Last Post Info
New Replies Icon States Fun
Answer these to see what you may have in common with New York forumers
General Discussion Amy1022 
  • 0 Replies
  • 46 Views
New Replies Icon HI!
New at the Forum
New Member Introductions james60 
  • 1 Reply
  • 58 Views
New Replies Icon Pubs, Bars and Karaoke! Theatre District.
Looking for some guidance...... :-)
Questions and Answers matt_tee 
  • 3 Replies
  • 100 Views
New Replies Icon Avoid public parks this evening Current News and Politics mrkredo 
  • 0 Replies
  • 26 Views
New Replies Icon Gene Russianoff is running for WHAT?
Public office OR Curtis Sliwa's spot on WABC
MTA - Notes from the Underground EminemsRevenge 
  • 3 Replies
  • 535 Views

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users